搜索

考古遗址

克里特岛上有许多不同文明的遗址。徒步旅行时,你可能会遇到一些遗址,也会发现一些 遗址被绳子封锁起来,没有提供任何相关信息。你还会发现其它一些开发的遗址,遗址设 有先进的导览中心。以下是是距加瓦洛霍里最近的遗址,游客可在此体验不同的风光。

葡萄园。肯尼斯,Pexels

斯泰洛斯

距离加瓦洛乔里 15 公里

距离加瓦洛霍里最近(仅 15 公里或 9 英里)、最壮观的考古遗址之一是通往阿普特拉的路上斯泰洛斯(Στύλος)村西北的米诺斯古墓。在橄榄树林中间有一座完整的圆形拱顶石墓,可以追溯到公元前 14-13 世纪。要找到它,请找到一扇铁门,门上有一把挂锁,挂锁的钥匙就挂在铁门旁边。那里还有一个关于遗址的信息牌。这里不收门票,也没有服务员,通常也没有其他人。进入大门后向前走,会看到一条小路,很快就到了右边的尽头。穿过这条小路,走右边的第二条小路,沿着这条路走一小段,就会看到一条通往墓室的通道。更多信息请访问:链接

. .

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

阿普特拉

距离加瓦洛乔里 17 公里

加瓦洛霍里附近的另一个考古遗址是阿普特拉(Άπτερα),距离加瓦洛霍里 17 公里或 11 英里,这里的遗迹可以追溯到米诺斯时期(公元前 3000 年至公元前 1450 年)。它坐落在高高的山丘上,是曾经繁荣一时的城邦遗址。入口附近有一个极佳的导览中心,可以让你对即将看到的内容有所了解。你可以在这里待上一整天,但一定不要错过罗马时代遗留下来的令人叹为观止的大型蓄水池。夏天这里可能会很炎热,所以请尽早出发,带上帽子和遮阳伞。该处遗址并不是每天都开放,所以去之前一定要确认是否开放。更多信息请点击以下链接: 链接 和 链接.

.

干尼亚考古博物馆

距离加瓦洛乔里 22 公里

干尼亚考古博物馆是一座大型现代化博物馆,于 2021 年竣工,有三大常设展览。第一个 展览介绍该地区的史前生活,包括米诺斯文化,第二个展览涵盖城邦的发展,如附近的阿 普特拉。第三个展览通过使用馆藏中的文物讲述不同时期的日常生活。有关博物馆的更多 信息,请访问以下网址:链接

.

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

拉帕

距离加瓦洛乔里 32 公里

阿吉鲁波利村距离加瓦洛霍里仅 32 公里(20 英里)。村庄内有一处考古遗址,其中包 括来自拉帕城邦的遗址。强大的拉帕城邦至少可以追溯到公元前 300至400 年,传说是迈 锡尼的阿伽门农建立的。它在罗马时期变得非常强大,在拜占庭时期被阿拉伯或撒拉逊海 盗摧毁。城邦的势力时盛时衰,但曾一度拥有自己的铸币和货币,并拥有克里特岛南北海 岸的港口。这里的遗址包括罗马人的坟墓、保存完好的马赛克地板、罗马浴室遗迹和石制 品。游览完遗址后,你可以在阿吉鲁波利低洼地区的清泉和瀑布间的小酒馆小酌一番。寻 找拉帕的各个景点可能会让人感到困惑。如需了解更多信息,请参阅本网站 “一日游”部分 有关拉帕的信息。你还可以在以下链接查阅一些信息: 链接 和 链接

埃柳瑟纳

距离加瓦洛乔里 63 公里

埃柳瑟纳(Ἐλεύθερνα)是一个大型考古遗址,距离加瓦洛霍里 63 公里(40 英里),位于雷西姆诺东南方向25公里(15 英里)处。它位于伊达山脚下,从公元前3世纪到公元14世纪都是一座繁荣的城市。它之所以如此繁荣昌盛,部分原因在于其天然的要塞和丰富的自然资源。居民们可以从卫城看到大海,但乘船靠近的敌人却看不到这座城市。埃柳瑟纳得益于新鲜的自来水、邻近的可耕地、牲畜牧场、木材森林和采石场。在遗址的小径上,游客可以看到一座防御塔、一座希腊式桥梁、一座早期基督教大教堂、罗马式蓄水池和一个墓地。博物馆里陈列着遗址的发掘成果,三个展厅分别展示了公共生活、私人生活、宗教生活和丧葬习俗。短片和幻灯片对内容丰富的展品进行了补充。在埃柳瑟纳最令人兴奋的发现是四具女性遗骸,其中一具是坐着埋葬的,由于在墓穴中发现了奢华的物品,人们推测她们具有很高的社会地位。她们的发现被认为是2009-2010年间十大考古发现之一。由于埃柳瑟纳距离阿尔卡迪修道院以东仅7公里(4 英里),您可能想在游览埃柳瑟纳之后再去参观另一个重要遗址。

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

法拉萨纳

距离加瓦洛乔里 77 公里

法拉萨纳遗址毗邻海滩,是一个将考古遗址游览和游泳结合的绝佳去处。该遗址位于克里 特岛西海岸,距离加瓦洛霍里约 77 公里(48 英里)。在法拉萨纳海滩的北端,坐落着 公元前 6 世纪建立的法拉萨纳古城遗址。这座古城曾是一个海军强国,拥有巨大的城墙 和其他军事建筑,但在公元 365 年的一场地震中,该城被冲出海面 6.5 米(7 码),并 被海啸淹没,这座曾经著名的港口也随之被毁。该遗址于 1966 年才开始发掘,但迄今为 止的发现包括塔楼、防御墙、公共道路、浴池、水箱、祭坛、仓库和酒厂。在遗址开放期 间,你可以自由漫步于这些遗址之间。更多信息请访问 : 链接

.

费斯托斯

距离加瓦洛乔里 100 公里

费斯托斯(Faistos/Phaestos, Φαιστός) 古老的米诺斯宫殿位于加瓦洛霍里东南约 100 公里(62 英里)处。宫殿的废墟与克诺索斯宫(the palace of Knossos)一样令人印象深刻,而且该宫殿并没有像克诺索斯宫那样重建(克诺索斯宫的重建有许多疑点)。另一个优点是这里的参观者没有克诺索斯的那么多。

曾经,费斯托斯是克里特岛南部面积最大、实力最强的城市。从大约公元前 2,000 年开始,这座宫殿曾多次被毁坏、重建。您可以看到一系列梯田,它们之间有巨大的楼梯,还有储藏室、粮仓、皇家居所、作坊、剧院、庭院和瑞亚神庙(the temple of Rhea)的遗迹。这里是发现可追溯到米诺斯时期的著名费斯托斯圆盘的地方。该盘现存于伊拉克利翁考古博物馆(the Heraklion Archaeological Museum),盘上的各种印记符号从未被破译。要充分欣赏该景点,您可能需要在景区入口处聘请一名导游。 费斯托斯宫遗址内设有各种便利设施,包括咖啡厅、书店和纪念品商店。有关费斯托斯的更多信息,可查阅:链接

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

马塔拉和戈尔蒂纳

距离加瓦洛乔里 110 公里

这个一日游结合了两个考古遗址,从马塔拉 (Matala, Μάταλα) 开始。马塔拉是距离加瓦洛霍里西南 110 公里(68 英里)的一个村庄,以其“嬉皮士洞穴”而闻名。虽然这些洞穴通常被认为是古罗马墓葬群,但它们更有可能是新石器时代(公元前 7000-3000 年)人们居住的地方。在 1960 年代末和 1970 年代初,许多年轻人住在山洞里,包括创作歌手乔尼·米切尔(Joni Mitchell),他的歌曲“Carey”提到了“马塔拉之月”。现在考古学会将这些洞穴围起来进行保护,当然,不再允许人们住在里面。更多信息可查阅:链接

从马塔拉出发,仅 23 公里(14 英里)的车程就可到达戈尔蒂纳 (Gortyna, Γόρτυνα),您在那里看到的文化遗迹可追溯到新石器时代。然而,这座城市最强大的鼎盛期是罗马时期,那时它是克里特岛的首都。在这个跨越主干道的紧凑考古遗址中,您可以看到建于 6 世纪的拜占庭圣提多教堂(Church of Saint Titus)。当时圣提多应圣保罗要求将基督教传播到克里特岛。那里还残存着戈尔蒂纳法典,它为城邦制定民法奠定了基础。这些法律条文写在圆形墙壁上,它们所在的建筑可能是一栋公共建筑,上面的一些文字如今仍然可见。该法典涉及财产权、奴隶所有权以及离婚或丧偶妇女的权利等议题。在这里,您还可以看到剧院、宫殿、浴场和几座寺庙的废墟。戈尔蒂纳于 828 年被阿拉伯人或撒拉逊人(Saracens)摧毁。它距离加瓦洛霍里 122 公里(76 英里)。有关戈尔蒂纳的更多信息,可参阅: 链接

克诺索斯

距离加瓦洛乔里 113 公里

我们网站通常为你推荐距离加瓦洛霍里较近的景点,但克诺索斯绝对是你在克里特岛考古 遗址之旅中不容错过的地方,因为它是其中最著名的一个。克诺索斯距离加瓦洛霍里 117 公里(72 英里),靠近伊拉克利翁,是古代米诺斯文明的发源地,也被认为是欧洲最古 老的城市。这座城市从新石器时代(公元前 7000——6500 年)起就有人类居住,直到 公元前 1300 年左右被摧毁。该遗址最突出的特征是一座建筑,可能是宫殿、行政中心、 宗教中心或综合建筑。该遗址由英国考古学家阿瑟·埃文斯于 20 世纪初发掘,尽管现在有 人认为埃文斯进行的一些重建工作存在问题,甚至是不恰当的。然而,该遗址绝对值得一 看,但如果在夏季前往,一定要做好迎接人潮和烈日的准备。如果你参观了克诺索斯,千 万不要错过伊拉克利翁考古博物馆,该博物馆位于伊拉克利翁市中心,距离克诺索斯遗址 仅 5.6 公里(3.5 英里)。在那里,你可以看到从克诺索斯和克里特岛其他考古遗址出土 的从米诺斯时代到罗马时代的许多文物。更多信息请访问 :链接

在图像上单击一次以打开幻灯片放映

加载更多
我们使用 cookie 来个性化内容和广告,提供社交媒体功能并分析我们的流量。我们还与我们的社交媒体、广告和分析合作伙伴共享有关您使用我们网站的信息。 查看更多
Cookie 设置
接受
衰退
隐私和 Cookie 政策
隐私和 Cookie 政策
饼干名称 积极的
  1. 信息收集和使用:当您成为本网站用户时,我们会收集您提供给我们的个人信息,例如您的姓名和电子邮件地址。我们会向您发送有关我们网站以及有关加瓦洛霍里 相关信息的电子邮件。我们也会使用您的电子邮件来查看您的使用情况或收集您的意见。
  2. 征得同意:当您向我们提供个人信息时,即表示您同意我们仅出于特定原因收集和使用这些信息。如果我们出于营销等次要原因要求您提供个人信息,我们将直接征求您的意见,您可以同意或拒绝。
  3. 撤回同意:在您选择加入后,如果您改变主意,您可以随时通过电子邮箱AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 或寄邮件到1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA与我们取得联系,撤回“同意我们与您联系”或“继续收集、使用或披露您的信息”。
  4. 披露:如果法律要求我们这样做或者如果您违反我们的条款和条件,我们可能会披露您的个人信息。 [插入条款和条件的链接]
  5. 数据位置:您的数据存储在“福斯-拉迪奇加瓦洛霍里基金”(Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori)的数据存储系统中。数据存储在防火墙后面的安全服务器上。
  6. 支付流程:如果您在我们的网站上购买东西,我们会使用第三方付款处理器。支付通过支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI-DSS) 进行加密。您的购买交易数据仅在交易存续时段得以保存。所有直接支付网关都遵守PCI-DSS 制定的标准,该标准由 PCI 安全标准委员会负责管理, Visa、MasterCard、American Express 和 Discover 等品牌共同参与执行。 PCI-DSS 规定有助于确保我们网站安全处理信用卡信息。
  7. 第三方服务:一般而言,我们使用的第三方供应商只会在必要的范围内收集、使用和披露您的信息,以允许他们完成向我们提供的服务。但是,某些第三方服务供应商,例如支付网关和其他支付交易处理器,对于因交易需要而向他们提供的信息有他们自己的隐私政策。对于这些供应商,我们建议您阅读他们的隐私政策,以便了解这些供应商会如何处理您的个人信息。某些供应商及其设备可能位于与您或我们不同的司法管辖区。如果您选择涉及第三方服务供应商提供的服务交易,您的信息会受到该服务供应商或其设备所在司法管辖区的法律约束。一旦您离开我们的网站或被重定向到第三方网站或应用程序,您将不再受本隐私政策或我们网站的条款和条件的约束。
  8. 网站链接:当您点击我们网站上的链接时,它们会引导您离开本网站。我们不会对其他网站的隐私做法负责,并建议您阅读他们的隐私声明。
  9. 信息安全:为保护您的个人信息,我们采取合理的预防措施并遵循行业最佳实践,以确保您的信息不会被不当丢失、滥用、访问、披露、更改或销毁。如果您向我们提供了您的信用卡信息,该信息会使用安全套接字层技术 (SSL) 进行加密,并以 AES-256 加密方式进行存储。尽管通过互联网或电子存储的传输方法不是 100% 安全,但我们还是会遵循所有 PCI-DSS 的规定,并执行其它被普遍接受的行业标准。
  10. 饼干: 我们收集 cookie 或类似的跟踪技术——我们网站的服务器传输到您的计算机的信息。此信息可用于跟踪您在我们网站上的会话。 Cookie 也可用于为您个人定制我们的网站内容。如果您使用的是一种常见的互联网网络浏览器,您可以将浏览器设置为在收到 cookie 时通知您或拒绝 cookie 访问您的计算机。
    • 我们使用cookies 来识别您的设备并为您提供个性化的体验。
    • 我们使用cookies 识别通过第三方渠道访问我们网站的情况,并投放来自Google、Facebook、Instagram 和其他第三方供应商的有针对性的广告。
    • 我们的第三方广告商使用 cookie 来跟踪您之前对我们网站和互联网其他地方的访问,以便为您提供有针对性的广告。有关定向广告或行为广告的更多信息,请访问: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • 选择退出:您可以通过访问数字广告联盟的退出页面,选择退出通过特定第三方供应商提供的定向广告。链接
    • 我们还在网站上实行自动跟踪,以衡量与您的沟通情况以及我们的产品和服务方面的绩效和参与度。
    • 请注意,由于对如何响应“请勿跟踪”没有形成行业共识,因此当我们从您的浏览器中检测到此类信号时,不会改变我们对数据的收集和使用。
  11. 网络分析工具:我们会使用网站内置的网络分析工具来衡量和收集匿名的登录信息。
  12. 准入年龄:未成年人(未满 18周岁)不得使用本网站。
  13. 本隐私政策的变更:我们保留随时修改本隐私政策的权利。请经常查看本隐私政策。更改和公示会在网站上发布后立即生效。如果我们对本政策进行重大更改,我们会在这里通知您政策已更新,以便您了解我们收集信息的类型;我们如何使用它;以及我们会在什么情况下使用和/或披露您的信息。如果我们的网站被其它公司收购或兼并,您的信息会转给新的所有者,以便我们可以继续向您提供信息。
  14. 联系我们:如果您想访问、更正、修改或删除我们已有的关于您的个人信息;投诉;或想了解更多信息,请通过 AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 联系我们的隐私合规官,或寄邮件到 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA。
保存设置
Cookie 设置

Search

Archaeological Sites

Ruins of many different civilizations abound on Crete. You might come across some while hiking, you will find some that are roped off but with no information supplied about them, and you’ll find other sites that are well developed with sophisticated orientation centers. The ones listed here are the ruins that are the closest to Gavalochori, and they offer different kinds of experiences.

Vineyards. Kenneth, Pexels

Stylos

15 km from Gavalochori

The closest archaeological site to Gavalochori (just 15 kilometers or 9 miles away) and one of the most spectacular is the Minoan tomb northwest of the village of Stylos (Στύλος) on the road to Aptera. In the middle of an olive grove is an intact, round, vaulted tomb built out of stones that dates to the 14th-13th century BC. To find it, look for a metal gate with a padlock locking the gate and the key to the padlock hanging next to it. There is also an information sign about the site there. There is no admission fee and no attendant, and there is usually no one else there. Walk straight ahead once you enter the gate, and you will see a bit of a path that ends quickly on your right. Pass that path up and take the second path that you come to on your right. Follow it a short way, and you will come to a passageway that leads down into the tomb. More information is available here.

This day trip lets you explore Stylos.

Click once on an image to open slide show

Click once on an image to open slide show

Aptera

17 km from Gavalochori

Another archaeological site very near to Gavalochori is Aptera (Άπτερα), 17 kilometers or 11 miles away, which contains layers of ruins dating back to the Minoan period (3000-1450 BC). Set high on a hill, it was the site of a once-prosperous city state. You’ll appreciate the excellent orientation center near the entrance that will give you an idea of what you are about to see. You could spend all day here, but be sure not to miss the stunning large cisterns dating from Roman times. The site can be quite warm in the summer, so start out early and bring a hat and an umbrella for shade. The site isn’t open every day, so check before you go to be sure it is. More information is available here and here.

Explore this day trip to Aptera!

Archaeological Museum of Chania

22 km from Gavalochori

The Chania (Χανιά) Archaeological Museum is a large modern museum, completed in 2021, that features three major permanent exhibitions. The first presents prehistoric life in the area, including the Minoan culture, and the second covers the development of city states such as that of nearby Aptera. The third exhibition tells the story of everyday life during various time periods through the use of artifacts in the collection. More information about the museum can be found here.

Take a look at this tour of Chania's historic sites.

Click once on an image to open slide show

Click once on an image to open slide show

Lappa

32 km from Gavalochori

Just 32 kilometers (20 miles) from Gavalochori is the village of Argyroupoli (Αργυρούπολη). The village area encompasses an archaeological site that contains ruins from Lappa (Λάππα), a powerful city state that goes back at least to 300–400 BC and, according to legend, was founded by Agamemnon of Mycenae. It became very powerful during the Roman period and was destroyed by Arab or Saracen pirates during the Byzantine period. Its power waxed and waned through the years, but at one time, the city had its own mint and money and encompassed ports on both the north and south coasts of Crete. Ruins here include Roman tombs, a well-preserved mosaic floor, remains of a Roman bath, and stonework. After exploring the ruins, you can enjoy the tavernas among the refreshing springs and waterfalls in the lower area of Argyroupoli. Finding the various attractions at Lappa can be confusing. For more information, see the discussion of Lappa in the Day Trips section of this website. You can also find some information here and here.

Eleutherna

63 km from Gavalochori

Eleutherna (Ἐλεύθερνα) is a large archaeological site 63 kilometers (40 miles) from Gavalochori and 25 kilometers (15 miles) southeast of Rethymno. Located at the foot of Mt. Ida, Eleutherna was a thriving city trom the 3rd century BC to the 14th century AD. It flourished so long in part because of its natural fortification and abundant natural resources. Residents could see the sea from the acropolis, but the city was invisible to enemies approaching by boat. Eleutherna benefited from fresh running water and close proximity to arable land, pastures for livestock, forests for timber, and a quarry. Among the sites that are visible to visitors who walk the paths through the site are a defensive tower, a Hellenistic bridge, an early Christian basilica, Roman cisterns, and a cemetery. A museum houses the results of the excavations at the site, and its three rooms focus on public and private life, religious life, and funerary practices. Short films and slide shows complement the well-displayed and informative exhibits. Among the most exciting discoveries at Eleutherna were the remains of four women, one buried in a seated position, who are assumed to have had high social status because of the opulent items found in the grave. Their discovery was considered one of the top-10 archaeological finds for 2009-2010. Because Eleutherna is only 7 km (4 miles) east of the Arkadi Monastery, you might want to visit this other important site following your exploration of Eleutherna.

Click once on an image to open slide show

Click once on an image to open slide show

Falasarna

77 km from Gavalochori

The ruins at Falasarna (Φαλάσαρνα) are connected to a beach, so this is a good place to combine a visit to an archaeological site with a swim. Falasarna is located on Crete’s western coast approximately 77 kilometers (48 miles) from Gavalochori. At the northern end of Falasarna Beach (Παραλία Φαλάσαρνας) are the ruins of the ancient city of Falasarna, founded in the 6th century BC. A naval power fortified with huge walls and other military buildings, its once-famous harbor was destroyed when an earthquake in 365 AD raised the city 6.5 meters (7 yards) out of the sea and flooded what remained with a tsunami. This site only began to be excavated in 1966, but discoveries so far have included towers, defensive walls, a public road, baths, water tanks, an altar, warehouses, and a wine factory. You are free to walk among the ruins when the site is open. More information can be found here.

You can explore Falasarna with this day trip.

Faistos

100 km from Gavalochori

The ancient Minoan palace of Faistos/Phaestos (Φαιστός) lies approximately 100 kilometers (62 miles) southeast of Gavalochori. The ruins of the palace are as impressive as the palace of Knossos, and the site has not been questionably reconstructed the way Knossos has. Another advantage is that the crowds here are not as large as those at Knossos.

At one time, Faistos was the largest and most powerful city in southern Crete. Dating from approximately 2,000 BC, the palace was destroyed and rebuilt several times. You can see a series of terraces with massive staircases between them and the remains of storerooms, granaries, royal quarters, workshops, a theater, courtyards, and the temple of Rhea. Here is where the famous Faistos disc dating back to the Minoan period was discovered. Now in the Heraklion Archaeological Museum, the various stamped symbols on the disc have never been deciphered. To fully appreciate the site, you might want to hire a guide, which can be arranged at the entrance. Faistos has a variety of amenities onsite, including a cafe, a bookstore, and a souvenir shop. You can find more information about Faistos here.

Click once on an image to open slide show

Click once on an image to open slide show

Matala and Gortyna

110 km from Gavalochori

These two archaeological sites are close together, so it makes sense to see them both on a day trip from Gavalochori. Matala is a village 110 kilometers (68 miles) southwest of Gavalochori that is most known for its “hippie caves.” Although these caves are often considered to be ancient Roman tombs, they were more likely places where people lived during the Neolithic period (7000-3000 BC). During the late 1960s and early 1970s, many young people lived in the caves, including singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell, whose song “Carey” references the “Matala moon.” The caves are now fenced off and protected by the Archaeological Society, and, of course, people are no longer allowed to live in them. More information is available here.

A drive of just 23 kilometers (14 miles) will bring you from Matala to Gortyna (Γόρτυνα), where you can see remnants of a culture that dates back to Neolithic times. The city was most powerful, however, in the Roman period as the capital of Crete. In this compact archaeological site that straddles the main road, you can see the 6th-century Byzantine Church of Saint Titus, who was asked by Saint Paul to bring Christianity to Crete. Also at the site are remnants of the Gortyna legal code that laid out civil law for the city-state. It was written on the circular walls of what might have been a public building, and some of the text can still be seen. The code dealt with issues such as property rights, the ownership of slaves, and the rights of divorced or widowed women. You can also see the ruins of a theater, a palace, baths, and several temples here. Gortyna was destroyed in 828 by the Arabs or Saracens. It is 122 kilometers (76 miles) from Gavalochori. Find out more about Gortyna here.

Knossos

113 km from Gavalochori

Τhis website usually directs you to sites relatively close to Gavalochori, but Knossos (Κνωσσός) has to be included in the Cretan archaeological sites you can visit simply because it is the most famous of them. A distance of 117 kilometers (72 miles) from Gavalochori, Knossos is located near Heraklion (Ηράκλειο) and is the site of the ancient Minoan civilization that is considered the oldest city in Europe. It was occupied from the Neolithic period (7000-6500 BC) until it was destroyed around 1300 BC. Its most prominent feature is a building that may have been a palace, an administrative center, a religious center, or a combination. The site was excavated by British archaeologist Arthur Evans in the early 20th century, although some of Evans’s reconstruction work is now considered questionable and even inappropriate. The site is definitely worth seeing, but be prepared for crowds and hot sun if you go in the summer. If you visit Knossos, don’t miss the Heraklion Archaeological Museum located in the center of Heraklion just 5.6 kilometers (3½ miles) from the Knossos site. There you can see many artifacts from Minoan to Roman times excavated from Knossos and other archaeological sites on Crete. More information is available here.

Click once on an image to open slide show

loading more
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. View more
Cookies settings
Accept
Decline
Privacy & Cookie policy
Privacy & Cookies policy
Cookie name Active
  1. Information Collected and Its Uses: When you participate in this site, we may collect the personal information you give us such as your name and email address. We may send you emails about our site and related information about the village of Gavalochori. We may also use your email to survey you about your usage or to collect your opinion.
  2. Obtaining Consent: When you provide us with personal information, you imply that you consent to our collecting it and using it for that specific reason only. If we ask for your personal information for a secondary reason, like marketing, we will either ask you directly for your expressed consent or provide you with an opportunity to say no.
  3. Withdrawing Consent: After you opt in, if you change your mind, you may withdraw your consent for us to contact you or for the continued collection, use, or disclosure of your information at any time by contacting us at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or mailing us at: 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
  4. Disclosure: We may disclose your personal information if we are required by law to do so or if you violate our Terms & Conditions. [INSERT LINK to Terms & Conditions].
  5. Location of Data: Your data are stored through the data-storage system of the Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori. Data are stored on a secure server behind a firewall.
  6. Payment Process: If you make a purchase on our site, we use a third-party payment processor. Payments are encrypted through the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS). Your purchase transaction data are stored only as long as is necessary to complete your purchase transaction. All direct payment gateways adhere to the standards set by PCI-DSS as managed by the PCI Security Standards Council, which is a joint effort of brands like Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. PCI-DSS requirements help ensure the secure handling of credit-card information by our site.
  7. Third Party Services: In general, the third-party providers we use will only collect, use, and disclose your information to the extent necessary to allow them to perform the services they provide to us. However, certain third-party service providers, such as payment gateways and other payment-transaction processors, have their own privacy policies in respect to the information we are required to provide to them for your purchase-related transactions. For these providers, we recommend that you read their privacy policies so you understand the manner in which your personal information will be handled by these providers. Certain providers may be located in or have facilities in a different jurisdiction than either you or us. If you elect to proceed with a transaction that involves the services of a third-party service provider, your information may become subject to the laws of the jurisdiction(s) in which that service provider or its facilities are located. Once you leave our Website or are redirected to a third-party website or application, you are no longer governed by this Privacy Policy or our Website’s Terms & Conditions.
  8. Links: When you click on links on our Website, they may direct you away from the site. We are not responsible for the privacy practices of other sites and encourage you to read their privacy statements.
  9. Security: To protect your personal information, we take reasonable precautions and follow industry best practices to make sure it is not inappropriately lost, misused, accessed, disclosed, altered, or destroyed. If you provide us with your credit-card information, the information is encrypted using secure socket layer technology (SSL) and stored with AES-256 encryption. Although no method of transmission over the internet or electronic storage is 100% secure, we follow all PCI-DSS requirements and implement additional generally accepted industry standards.
  10. Cookies: We collect cookies or similar tracking technologies—information that our Website’s server transfers to your computer. This information can be used to track your session on our Website. Cookies may also be used to customize our Website content for you as an individual. If you are using one of the common internet web browsers, you can set up your browser to either let you know when you receive a cookie or to deny cookie access to your computer.
    • We use cookies to recognize your device and provide you with a personalized experience.
    • We use cookies to attribute visits to our Website to third-party sources and to serve targeted ads from Google, Facebook, Instagram, and other third-party vendors.
    • Our third-party advertisers use cookies to track your prior visits to our Website and elsewhere on the internet in order to serve you targeted ads. For more information about targeted or behavioral advertising, please visit: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • Opting out: You can opt out of targeted ads served via specific third-party vendors by visiting the Digital Advertising Alliance’s Opt-Out page.
    • We may also use automated tracking methods on our Website, in communications with you, and in our products and services to measure performance and engagement.
    • Please note that because there is no consistent industry understanding of how to respond to “Do Not Track” signals, we do not alter our data collection and usage practices when we detect such a signal from your browser.
  11. Web-Analysis Tools: We may use web-analysis tools that are built into the Website to measure and collect anonymous session information.
  12. Age of Consent:  You may not use this Website if you are a minor (defined as those who are younger than 18 years of age).
  13. Changes to this Privacy Policy: We reserve the right to modify this Privacy Policy at any time. Please review it frequently. Changes and clarifications will take effect immediately upon their posting on the Website. If we make material changes to this policy, we will notify you here that it has been updated so that you are aware of the nature of the information we collect; how we use it; and the circumstances, if any, under which we will use and/or disclose it. If our site is acquired or merged with another company, your information may be transferred to the new owners so that we may continue to provide information to you.
  14. Questions and Contact Information: If you would like to access, correct, amend, or delete any personal information we have about you; register a complaint; or simply want more information, contact our Privacy Compliance Officer at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or by mail at 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
Save settings
Cookies settings