搜索

住在加瓦洛霍里(Gavalochori)

住在加瓦洛霍里(Gavalochori)

探索 。 . .

在加瓦洛霍里地区度假一段时间后,您可能会开始考虑搬到这里。与移居某些国家相比, 这会相对容易一些。部分原因是希腊政府已经采取措施,鼓励拥有能够自给自足的资产的 人移民。也就是说,为了能成功移民,您需要处理各种复杂的情况,克服官僚主义的束缚 。以下是有关在希腊获得永久居留权的信息,可以帮助解答“我应该搬到 加瓦洛霍里吗?” 的问题。

如果您在加瓦洛霍里或附近建造或购买房屋,以下是一些有用的当地资源:

  • Katerina Bakatsaki是一名土木工程师,她的办公室就在加瓦洛霍里的主广场上。电话:2825 0 22 155 或 6944 899 233。
  • Giorgos Lenas, 加瓦洛乔里木匠和橱柜制造商。电话:6945 632 287。
  • Apostolos Christoulakis,在加瓦洛霍里通往阿尔米里达的路上经营石材切割生意。电话:2825 0 23 338 或 6944 500 036。

许可证和签证

希腊是欧盟 (EU) 的成员,因此其他欧盟国家的居民可以通过最简程序移居希腊。如果您 是欧盟国家的居民,您只需要申请永久居留许可并满足一些基本的财务要求。获得此许可 证的一种方法是在希腊投资至少 250,000 欧元的房地产,或对其他希腊金融商品进行货 币投资以获得“黄金签证”。获得永久居留许可的另一种方法是提供工作证明,但这可能比 较困难(请参阅下面的工作部分)。获得许可证的第三种方法是提供月收入至少2,000 欧 元的证明以及足额医疗保险的证明。

如果您不想在此永久定居,但想在加瓦洛霍里长期居住,您需要获得长期居留签证。如果 游客 180 天内在该国停留 90 天或以上,则必须获得此类签证。但尽管如此,该规定并没 有被严格地执行。

工作

如果您还没有退休,那么搬到加瓦洛霍里的最大困难可能就是在这里找到合适的工作。您 需要了解,希腊人,尤其是年轻人的失业率非常高,在加瓦洛霍里也是如此。如果您目前 居住在欧盟以外,想在此工作,您的雇主必须证明在希腊或欧盟都没有其他合适的候选人 。由于证明程序需要大量的文书工作并且政府部门需要一些时间来处理它,这让情况变得 非常复杂。如果您居住在欧盟国家并且能够在希腊找到工作,那么您在 加瓦洛霍里找工 作会更加轻松:您可以直接开始工作——您的雇主无需开具任何证明。 

互联网使得您能够生活在 加瓦洛霍里,为另一个国家的公司工作。考虑此类远程工作的一 个关键因素是需要了解您的税将在哪里征收。如果您需要在希腊缴纳与工作相关的税,那 么这些税可能会很高,因为希腊的就业和商业税很高。您可能还会发现,虽然加瓦洛霍里 可以正常访问互联网,并且有多家公司可以提供互联网入户服务(包括 COSMOTE、普 通的电话公司和卫星公司),但互联网有时会不稳定甚至会完全中断。因此,通过互联网 进行远程工作有时会有困难。

生活成本

在德拉克马货币的旧时代,希腊和其他地方的生活成本差异很大,希腊的生活成本很低。 然而,自2001年希腊采用欧元以来,这里的生活成本一直在攀升,虽然还没有上升到北 欧国家的水平,但希腊现在的生活成本在欧洲40个国家中排名第17位。不过,与希腊其 他地区和其他欧洲国家相比,加瓦洛霍里地区的小酒馆和杂货店的价格仍然相对便宜。

健康保险

为了成为希腊的永久居民,您必须出示健康保险证明,主要有如下几种选择:

  • 您拥有私人健康保险单。
  • 您拥有本国政府通过希腊与该国之间现有的协议获得的健康保险。目前,这指的是一张 EHIC 卡,或者至少是一张英国国民健康卡。
  • 如果您在希腊工作,您可以定期向EFKA 系统付款并获得健康保险。 
  • 如果您是永久居民,您可以支付并参加公共保险体系,例如ΕΣΥ(国民健康制度)。
  • 您的祖国或者现任或前任雇主可能为您上了保险。在这种情况下,您只需要提供承保证 明。
住在加瓦洛霍里(Gavalochori)

购买或建造房屋

加瓦洛霍里有多种住房选择,其中许多价格低于其他欧盟国家的同类住房。有时您仍然可 能会在村子中间发现有百年历史的房屋在待售,但如今买到这类房屋的可能性比以前小多 了,部分原因是居民现在将它们变成了短期出租屋。咨询居住在当地的人可能会让您获得 一些待售房屋的信息,这些以传统方式可能无法了解到。当地继续在建新屋,特别是在村 庄周围的山丘上,如果您与有信誉的房地产经纪人和当地优秀的律师合作,并适当地审查 您决定雇用的建筑商,就可以顺利建成一幢房子。 

买车

通过附近阿尔梅里达(Almyrida) 和凯尔威斯(Kalyves) 的企业或干尼亚(Chania) 的机场,您可以轻松地在 加瓦洛霍里租用汽车。但是,如果您计划在当地长期逗留或永 久居住,您可能需要购买汽车。

在加瓦洛霍里购买汽车所要考虑的因素与许多其他国家相似。当然,购买新车是最昂贵的 选择,但新车更加可靠、能获得保修以及汽车经销商对您在希腊注册和认证新车过程中的 协助。 

购买二手车是最经济的,但可靠性始终是个问题。您可能会找到一辆仍然可靠的、旧的、 里程数高的汽车,因为它的上一任主人驾驶的范围不超过干尼亚或者南海岸。您还要记住 ,克里特岛(Crete)最宽处只有 60 公里(37 英里),总长260 公里(160 英里),所 以如果您的车抛锚了,救援的地方离你一定不远。与许多国家一样,您也可以注册随叫随 到的道路服务。 

加瓦洛霍里确实有自己的汽车修理师,因此如果您需要汽车维修服务,在附近就可以找到 。您可以在从 加瓦洛霍里到 瓦莫斯(Vamos)的路上找到 米哈利斯汽修服务(Michalis Auto Service Μιχάλης Συνεργείο Αυτοκινήτων)。他为该地区的大多数人提供服务,并且 根据所有顾客的反馈,他做得很好。在前往瓦莫斯的路上,到达山顶时向左看,您会在石 墙后面看到一座粉红色的大房子和旁边的白色车库,这就是他的店。

在希腊拥有汽车的费用包含:

  • 2011 年之前生产的车辆的年费取决于发动机的大小。 2011 年或以后制造的汽车 的年费按其排放的二氧化碳水平征税,因此拥有发动机大于 1600cc 的汽车可能 需要支付大量年费。此外,现在对发动机大于 1929cc 且使用时间长达 10 年的 车辆征收奢侈税。 
  • 每月的保险费因您选择的保险范围和汽车的价值而变化,预计二手车每月的保费 至少需要 100 欧元。
  • 二手车需要每两年进行一次安全检查,未通过安全检查(KTEO)的汽车需要进行 修理才能重新上路。汽车还需要每年进行排放测试。
  • 作为外国人,您可以在希腊拥有汽车,前提是遵循以下基本流程:(1) 准备所需的 文件,包括您的税号、居留许可、车辆检查表和保险证明; (2) 注册汽车,如果您 不是欧盟公民,则需要您的护照、所有权证明、驾驶执照复印件和永久居留许可; (3) 需要证明您的汽车配备了灭火器、急救箱和三角警示牌。 

除了购买汽车,您还可以与阿尔梅里达、凯尔威斯或干尼亚的代理机构签署淡季长期租赁 协议。在淡季,有数千辆空闲的出租汽车停在田野里,它们几乎或根本没有被出租的可能 。通过与租车公司讨价还价,您可以租到几乎全新的汽车,且每月的花费不多。当然,使 用此法保险将是一笔可观的费用。

官僚机构

希腊以其耗时且经常令人沮丧的官僚机构而闻名。如果您是加瓦洛霍里的一名游客,一定 程度上您无需与官僚机构打交道,但如果您决定住在这里,您就无法避开他们。官僚作风 的例子有:(1) 只接受原件和/或经过公证的副本,即使这种真实性证明没有法律依据;(2) 即使预约时间早就过了,而工作人员却在休息室内闲聊 ;(3) 必须通过社区领导或政治家 才能办事,否则您的文件可能会被搁置在官僚的办公桌上。  

多年来,人们为改革官僚机构进行了各种努力,但问题仍然存在。造成这种情况的一个原 因是,希腊的政党长期以来一直利用公共部门为支持者提供工作机会,从而保证选票。尽 管当今这种现象略有减少,但希腊曾经大约有800,000 的公务员。对于一个只有1100万 人口的国家来说,这个数量太大了。如此庞大的公务员队伍人为地“制造”了一些没有必 要的项目和流程,也阻碍了改革。 

作为居民,除了耐心之外,您对希腊的官僚作风无能为力。但是坚持反馈会有帮助——即 使官僚机构不想帮助你,它也不想定期看到你或者收到你的邮件,最终它们可能会处理您 的事务。如果您的希腊语不好,您可能还需要带上一位希腊朋友以帮忙解释清楚您的问题 。这里有一个不可思议的例子,有关几只猫是如何成为希腊官僚作风的受害者的故事,链 接如下: 文章.

别样的冬天!

暑期的加瓦洛霍里并不能反映这个村庄整年的生活全貌。如果您正在考虑定居此地,需要 记住几个关键因素,其中之一就是天气。虽然这里一年中大部分时间都是阳光明媚的,但 冬天有两、三个月的时间会多雨。有些年份冬天偶尔还会下雪。您还要为强风做好准备, 可能持续几天到一个月,风力有时大到能吹倒树木。冬季气温在 8 ºC 至 15ºC(46 ºF 至 59ºF)之间。 

冬季在加瓦洛霍里营业的商业较少。例如,阿里斯马里餐馆(Arismari Taverna)会有一 整个月仅在周末营业。莫妮卡餐馆(Monica's Taverna)仅在早上供应咖啡,周末供应 午餐和晚餐。其他季节里在加瓦洛霍里及周边地区可享受到的音乐活动到了冬季就变得少 之又少了,因此在没有外界活动的日子里,您只能自娱自乐。话虽如此,许多住在此地的 人实际上更喜欢冬天的生活!

我们使用 cookie 来个性化内容和广告,提供社交媒体功能并分析我们的流量。我们还与我们的社交媒体、广告和分析合作伙伴共享有关您使用我们网站的信息。 查看更多
Cookie 设置
接受
衰退
隐私和 Cookie 政策
隐私和 Cookie 政策
饼干名称 积极的
  1. 信息收集和使用:当您成为本网站用户时,我们会收集您提供给我们的个人信息,例如您的姓名和电子邮件地址。我们会向您发送有关我们网站以及有关加瓦洛霍里 相关信息的电子邮件。我们也会使用您的电子邮件来查看您的使用情况或收集您的意见。
  2. 征得同意:当您向我们提供个人信息时,即表示您同意我们仅出于特定原因收集和使用这些信息。如果我们出于营销等次要原因要求您提供个人信息,我们将直接征求您的意见,您可以同意或拒绝。
  3. 撤回同意:在您选择加入后,如果您改变主意,您可以随时通过电子邮箱AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 或寄邮件到1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA与我们取得联系,撤回“同意我们与您联系”或“继续收集、使用或披露您的信息”。
  4. 披露:如果法律要求我们这样做或者如果您违反我们的条款和条件,我们可能会披露您的个人信息。 [插入条款和条件的链接]
  5. 数据位置:您的数据存储在“福斯-拉迪奇加瓦洛霍里基金”(Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori)的数据存储系统中。数据存储在防火墙后面的安全服务器上。
  6. 支付流程:如果您在我们的网站上购买东西,我们会使用第三方付款处理器。支付通过支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI-DSS) 进行加密。您的购买交易数据仅在交易存续时段得以保存。所有直接支付网关都遵守PCI-DSS 制定的标准,该标准由 PCI 安全标准委员会负责管理, Visa、MasterCard、American Express 和 Discover 等品牌共同参与执行。 PCI-DSS 规定有助于确保我们网站安全处理信用卡信息。
  7. 第三方服务:一般而言,我们使用的第三方供应商只会在必要的范围内收集、使用和披露您的信息,以允许他们完成向我们提供的服务。但是,某些第三方服务供应商,例如支付网关和其他支付交易处理器,对于因交易需要而向他们提供的信息有他们自己的隐私政策。对于这些供应商,我们建议您阅读他们的隐私政策,以便了解这些供应商会如何处理您的个人信息。某些供应商及其设备可能位于与您或我们不同的司法管辖区。如果您选择涉及第三方服务供应商提供的服务交易,您的信息会受到该服务供应商或其设备所在司法管辖区的法律约束。一旦您离开我们的网站或被重定向到第三方网站或应用程序,您将不再受本隐私政策或我们网站的条款和条件的约束。
  8. 网站链接:当您点击我们网站上的链接时,它们会引导您离开本网站。我们不会对其他网站的隐私做法负责,并建议您阅读他们的隐私声明。
  9. 信息安全:为保护您的个人信息,我们采取合理的预防措施并遵循行业最佳实践,以确保您的信息不会被不当丢失、滥用、访问、披露、更改或销毁。如果您向我们提供了您的信用卡信息,该信息会使用安全套接字层技术 (SSL) 进行加密,并以 AES-256 加密方式进行存储。尽管通过互联网或电子存储的传输方法不是 100% 安全,但我们还是会遵循所有 PCI-DSS 的规定,并执行其它被普遍接受的行业标准。
  10. 饼干: 我们收集 cookie 或类似的跟踪技术——我们网站的服务器传输到您的计算机的信息。此信息可用于跟踪您在我们网站上的会话。 Cookie 也可用于为您个人定制我们的网站内容。如果您使用的是一种常见的互联网网络浏览器,您可以将浏览器设置为在收到 cookie 时通知您或拒绝 cookie 访问您的计算机。
    • 我们使用cookies 来识别您的设备并为您提供个性化的体验。
    • 我们使用cookies 识别通过第三方渠道访问我们网站的情况,并投放来自Google、Facebook、Instagram 和其他第三方供应商的有针对性的广告。
    • 我们的第三方广告商使用 cookie 来跟踪您之前对我们网站和互联网其他地方的访问,以便为您提供有针对性的广告。有关定向广告或行为广告的更多信息,请访问: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • 选择退出:您可以通过访问数字广告联盟的退出页面,选择退出通过特定第三方供应商提供的定向广告。链接
    • 我们还在网站上实行自动跟踪,以衡量与您的沟通情况以及我们的产品和服务方面的绩效和参与度。
    • 请注意,由于对如何响应“请勿跟踪”没有形成行业共识,因此当我们从您的浏览器中检测到此类信号时,不会改变我们对数据的收集和使用。
  11. 网络分析工具:我们会使用网站内置的网络分析工具来衡量和收集匿名的登录信息。
  12. 准入年龄:未成年人(未满 18周岁)不得使用本网站。
  13. 本隐私政策的变更:我们保留随时修改本隐私政策的权利。请经常查看本隐私政策。更改和公示会在网站上发布后立即生效。如果我们对本政策进行重大更改,我们会在这里通知您政策已更新,以便您了解我们收集信息的类型;我们如何使用它;以及我们会在什么情况下使用和/或披露您的信息。如果我们的网站被其它公司收购或兼并,您的信息会转给新的所有者,以便我们可以继续向您提供信息。
  14. 联系我们:如果您想访问、更正、修改或删除我们已有的关于您的个人信息;投诉;或想了解更多信息,请通过 AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 联系我们的隐私合规官,或寄邮件到 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA。
保存设置
Cookie 设置

Search

Living In Gavalochori

Living In Gavalochori

Explore . . .

After you have spent some time vacationing in the Gavalochori area, you might start thinking about moving here. It’s actually not all that difficult to do, compared to some countries, in part because the Greek government has taken steps to encourage the immigration of people with assets that make them self-sufficient once they settle in Greece. That said, there are complications and bureaucratic hoops that you will need to surmount in order to make such a move successful. Following is information about taking up permanent residency in Greece that can help inform the decision process around the question, “Should I move to Gavalochori?”

If you build or buy a house in or near Gavalochori, there are some local resources that you will find useful:

  • Katerina Bakatsaki, a civil engineer whose office is on the main square in Gavalochori.  Telephone: 2825 0 22 155 or 6944 899 233.
  • Giorgos Lenas, a carpenter and cabinet maker in Gavalochori. Telephone: 6945 632 287.
  • Apostolos Christoulakis, owner of a stone-cutting business just outside of Gavalochori on the road to Almyrida. Telephone: 2825 0 23 338 or 6944 500 036

Permits and Visas

Greece is a member of the European Union (EU), so residents of other EU countries can move to Greece with minimal processing. If you are one of these people, you only need to apply for a permanent residence permit and meet some basic financial requirements. One option for securing this permit is to obtain a “Golden Visa” by investing in property in Greece in the amount of a minimum of €250,000 or through monetary investments in other Greek financial instruments. Another way to obtain a permanent residence permit is to provide proof of work, but this approach can be difficult (see the section on work below). A third way to get the permit is by providing proof of a monthly income of €2,000 or more along with proof of adequate health- insurance coverage.

If you don’t want to become a permanent resident but want to live in Gavalochori for extended periods, you can obtain a visa for a long-term stay. Visitors are required to secure visas if they are in the country for 90 days or more during a 180-day period. Although such a visa is required, the provision is only minimally enforced.

Working

Perhaps the greatest barrier to moving to Gavalochori if you have not yet retired is how difficult it is to find suitable work here. Remember that unemployment among Greeks and especially young people is very high, and that is true of the Gavalochori area. In order for you to work here if you currently live outside of the EU, your employer must prove that there is not another suitable candidate in either Greece or the EU. This is complicated by the fact that making such a case requires the generation of much paperwork and some time for the bureaucracy to churn it. If you live in an EU country and are able to find employment in Greece, you have a much easier time working in Gavalochori: You can simply get to work—your employer doesn’t have to prove anything. 

The internet has opened up possibilities for living in Gavalochori while working for a company located in another country. A key factor in making remote work possible is understanding where your taxes on such work will be levied. If you have to pay work-related taxes in Greece, those are likely to be high because Greek taxes on employment and business are high. You also might discover that while Gavalochori has decent access to the internet and there are several services that provide internet access to houses here (including COSMOTE, the regular telephone company, and satellite companies), the internet is sometimes unstable or goes out altogether. Remote work via the internet, then, can sometimes be difficult.

Cost of Living

In the old days of the drachma currency, the difference between the cost of living in Greece and elsewhere was substantial, and Greece was very inexpensive. Since Greece’s adoption of the euro in 2001, however, the cost of living here has climbed, and although it hasn’t risen to the level of Northern European countries, Greece now ranks 17th among the 40 European countries in terms of cost of living. Prices at tavernas and in grocery stores in the Gavalochori area are still relatively cheap, though, in comparison to some other parts of Greece and other European countries.

Health Insurance

In order to become a permanent resident of Greece, you have to show proof of health insurance. The key options are:

  • You have a private health-insurance policy.
  • You have health coverage by your home country’s government via an existing agreement between Greece and that country. At present, this means an EHIC card or, at least for now, a British national health card.
  • If you are working in Greece, you can pay regularly into the EFKA system and receive health insurance. 
  • If you are a permanent resident, you can pay into and participate in a public insurance system such as ΕΣΥ(National Health System). 
  • Your native country and/or current or former employer may have a system that will cover you. In this case, you simply need to have proof of coverage.
Living In Gavalochori

Buying or Building a House

Gavalochori has a variety of housing options, many of which are priced below such options in other EU nations. You still sometimes might find centuries-old houses for sale in the middle of the village, but they are much less available than they used to be in part because residents are turning them into vacation rentals. Talking to people who live in Gavalochori might yield some houses for sale that you might not learn about in conventional ways. New houses continue to be built in Gavalochori, especially on the hills surrounding the village, and if you work with a reputable realtor and a good local attorney and properly vet any builder you decide to hire, you will be fine. 

Buying a Car

Rental cars can be easily accessed in Gavalochori through businesses in nearby Almyrida and Kalyves or at the airport in Chania. If you will be staying for long periods of time or are planning to live in the Gavalochori area permanently, though, you might want to buy a car.

The variables that come into play when buying a car in the Gavalochori area are similar to those in many other countries. Buying a new car, of course, is the most expensive option, but new cars come with a higher degree of reliability, warranties, and the assistance of the car dealer in navigating the process of registering and licensing a car in Greece. 

Purchasing a used car is the most economical way to acquire a vehicle, but reliability is always a factor in such purchases. You might be able to find an older, high-mileage car that is still reliable because it was previously owned by someone who used the car to travel no farther than Chania and perhaps the south coast. Also keep in mind that Crete is only 60 kilometers (37 miles) wide at its widest point and 260 kilometers (160 miles) long, so if your car breaks down, you are never very far from help. As in many countries, you can also sign up for on-call road service. 

Gavalochori does have its own car mechanic, so assistance with car repairs is close by if you need it. You can find the Michalis Auto Service (Μιχάλης Συνεργείο Αυτοκινήτων) on the back road from Gavalochori to Vamos. He serves most of the locals in the area and, from all reports, does a good job. As you are heading toward Vamos, look to your left as you come to the top of a hill. You’ll see a large pink house and a white garage next to it behind a stone wall. 

Some costs related to owning a car in Greece are:

  • Annual fees for vehicles made before 2011 are based on the size of the engine. Annual fees on cars built in 2011 or later are taxed on the level of CO2 they emit, so cars with engines larger than 1600cc can incur substantial yearly fees. Also, there is now a luxury tax on vehicles with engines larger than 1929cc that are up to 10 years old. 
  • Insurance can range widely in monthly cost depending on the coverage you select and the value of the car. Expect to pay a minimum of €100 a month to insure a used car.
  • Used cars need to be inspected every two years for safety, and cars that don’t pass the safety inspection (called the KTEO) need to be repaired before returning to the road. Cars also need to undergo emissions testing annually.
  • As a foreigner, you can own a car in Greece provided you follow these basic processes: (1) Assemble the required paperwork, including your tax number, residency permit, vehicle-inspection form, and proof of insurance, (2) Register the car, which will require your passport, a certificate of ownership, a copy of your driver’s license, and a permanent residence permit if you are not an EU citizen, and (3) You need to show that you have equipped your car with a fire extinguisher, a first aid kit, and a warning triangle. 

Instead of purchasing a car, you also might strike a deal on a long-term rental of an off-season rental car with an agency in Almyrida, Kalyves, or Chania. In the off season, there are thousands of unused rental cars parked in fields with little or no prospect of being rented. Depending upon the bargain you make with the rental agency, this approach can give you a nearly new car for not much money monthly. Of course, insurance will be a significant cost in such an arrangement.

Bureaucracy

Greece is well known for its time-consuming and often very frustrating bureaucracy. If you stay a tourist in Gavalochori, you’ll be somewhat insulated from the bureaucracy, but if you decide to live here, you won’t be. Examples of bureaucratic challenges include: (1) Having to have an original and/or notarized copy of a document for it to be accepted, even though there is no legal rationale for such proof of authenticity, (2) Waiting long past your appointment time while watching employees who can help you socializing in a break room, and (3) Having to use the influence of a community leader or politician in order to move paperwork forward that would otherwise remain on a bureaucrat’s desk.  

Over the years, various efforts have been undertaken to reform the bureaucracy, but it persists. One reason for this is that the political parties in Greece have long used the public sector as a place to offer jobs to supporters and thus to guarantee votes. Although slightly reduced today, at one time Greece had approximately 800,000 individuals on the public payroll, a very large number for a country of only 11 million. This large volume of public servants generates “make-work” projects and processes and weighs against change. 

As a resident, there is not much you can do about the Greek bureaucracy except to be patient. Persistence can also help—even if the bureaucracy doesn’t want to help you, it also doesn’t want to see and hear from you on a regular basis and so might finally take action. If your Greek language skills are not good, you also might want to bring a Greek friend with you who can help explain your issue clearly. For an amusing glimpse into some cats that got caught up in Greece’s bureaucracy, check out this article.

It’s Different in Winter!

A summer vacation in Gavalochori doesn’t provide the same perspective as living full time in the village does. If you are considering making Gavalochori your home, you’ll want to remember a few key factors. One has to do with weather. Although the weather in Gavalochori is sunny much of the year, there are two and sometimes three months in the winter when it rains a lot, and some winters, Gavalochori even gets an occasional dusting of snow. Also be prepared for high winds that can last for a few days to a month and that can be strong enough to knock over trees. The temperatures in the winter are in the range of 8 to 15ºC (46 to 59ºF). 

Fewer businesses are open in Gavalochori in the winter. Arismari Taverna, for example, is open only on the weekends and closes entirely for one month. Monica’s Taverna is open only in the mornings for coffee and on the weekends for lunch and dinner. The musical events that you’ve probably been enjoying in Gavalochori and the surrounding area are few and far between during the winter, so you’ll have to be able to amuse yourself without relying on external activities and establishments. All of this being said, many people who live in Gavalochori actually prefer life here in the winter!

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. View more
Cookies settings
Accept
Decline
Privacy & Cookie policy
Privacy & Cookies policy
Cookie name Active
  1. Information Collected and Its Uses: When you participate in this site, we may collect the personal information you give us such as your name and email address. We may send you emails about our site and related information about the village of Gavalochori. We may also use your email to survey you about your usage or to collect your opinion.
  2. Obtaining Consent: When you provide us with personal information, you imply that you consent to our collecting it and using it for that specific reason only. If we ask for your personal information for a secondary reason, like marketing, we will either ask you directly for your expressed consent or provide you with an opportunity to say no.
  3. Withdrawing Consent: After you opt in, if you change your mind, you may withdraw your consent for us to contact you or for the continued collection, use, or disclosure of your information at any time by contacting us at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or mailing us at: 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
  4. Disclosure: We may disclose your personal information if we are required by law to do so or if you violate our Terms & Conditions. [INSERT LINK to Terms & Conditions].
  5. Location of Data: Your data are stored through the data-storage system of the Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori. Data are stored on a secure server behind a firewall.
  6. Payment Process: If you make a purchase on our site, we use a third-party payment processor. Payments are encrypted through the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS). Your purchase transaction data are stored only as long as is necessary to complete your purchase transaction. All direct payment gateways adhere to the standards set by PCI-DSS as managed by the PCI Security Standards Council, which is a joint effort of brands like Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. PCI-DSS requirements help ensure the secure handling of credit-card information by our site.
  7. Third Party Services: In general, the third-party providers we use will only collect, use, and disclose your information to the extent necessary to allow them to perform the services they provide to us. However, certain third-party service providers, such as payment gateways and other payment-transaction processors, have their own privacy policies in respect to the information we are required to provide to them for your purchase-related transactions. For these providers, we recommend that you read their privacy policies so you understand the manner in which your personal information will be handled by these providers. Certain providers may be located in or have facilities in a different jurisdiction than either you or us. If you elect to proceed with a transaction that involves the services of a third-party service provider, your information may become subject to the laws of the jurisdiction(s) in which that service provider or its facilities are located. Once you leave our Website or are redirected to a third-party website or application, you are no longer governed by this Privacy Policy or our Website’s Terms & Conditions.
  8. Links: When you click on links on our Website, they may direct you away from the site. We are not responsible for the privacy practices of other sites and encourage you to read their privacy statements.
  9. Security: To protect your personal information, we take reasonable precautions and follow industry best practices to make sure it is not inappropriately lost, misused, accessed, disclosed, altered, or destroyed. If you provide us with your credit-card information, the information is encrypted using secure socket layer technology (SSL) and stored with AES-256 encryption. Although no method of transmission over the internet or electronic storage is 100% secure, we follow all PCI-DSS requirements and implement additional generally accepted industry standards.
  10. Cookies: We collect cookies or similar tracking technologies—information that our Website’s server transfers to your computer. This information can be used to track your session on our Website. Cookies may also be used to customize our Website content for you as an individual. If you are using one of the common internet web browsers, you can set up your browser to either let you know when you receive a cookie or to deny cookie access to your computer.
    • We use cookies to recognize your device and provide you with a personalized experience.
    • We use cookies to attribute visits to our Website to third-party sources and to serve targeted ads from Google, Facebook, Instagram, and other third-party vendors.
    • Our third-party advertisers use cookies to track your prior visits to our Website and elsewhere on the internet in order to serve you targeted ads. For more information about targeted or behavioral advertising, please visit: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • Opting out: You can opt out of targeted ads served via specific third-party vendors by visiting the Digital Advertising Alliance’s Opt-Out page.
    • We may also use automated tracking methods on our Website, in communications with you, and in our products and services to measure performance and engagement.
    • Please note that because there is no consistent industry understanding of how to respond to “Do Not Track” signals, we do not alter our data collection and usage practices when we detect such a signal from your browser.
  11. Web-Analysis Tools: We may use web-analysis tools that are built into the Website to measure and collect anonymous session information.
  12. Age of Consent:  You may not use this Website if you are a minor (defined as those who are younger than 18 years of age).
  13. Changes to this Privacy Policy: We reserve the right to modify this Privacy Policy at any time. Please review it frequently. Changes and clarifications will take effect immediately upon their posting on the Website. If we make material changes to this policy, we will notify you here that it has been updated so that you are aware of the nature of the information we collect; how we use it; and the circumstances, if any, under which we will use and/or disclose it. If our site is acquired or merged with another company, your information may be transferred to the new owners so that we may continue to provide information to you.
  14. Questions and Contact Information: If you would like to access, correct, amend, or delete any personal information we have about you; register a complaint; or simply want more information, contact our Privacy Compliance Officer at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or by mail at 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
Save settings
Cookies settings