搜索

动植物

人类与许多其他生命共同生活在地球上,克里特岛上就有各种各样的生命。当您在加瓦洛 霍里看见各种植物和动物时,您会发现有的认识,有的不认识。本节旨在向您介绍加瓦洛 霍里地区的各种生物。

猪,克利特。 Luka Tica,Gavalochori 基金会

克里特岛上有大约 2,000 种植物,其中近 200 种是克里特特有的本土植物。克里特岛的 植物种类繁多归功于多种因素,其中之一是它的地理位置,来自中欧和土耳其的植物可以 在这儿生存。

克里特岛上的植物很耐寒,因为它们必须如此。只有那些适应严酷条件的植物才能度过夏 天。它们必须能够承受灼热的温度、干燥的风和强烈的光照。 

本部分无意提供克里特岛植物的完整分类,而是介绍在加瓦洛霍里及其附近您可能会遇到 的一些树木、花卉和草药。当然,您将看到什么植物取决于您何时来到克里特岛。这里选 取的依据是各自的特色:或壮观、或不寻常,或很常见,或常令游客困惑等等。

白藓
迪塔尼。 HelenaH,CC BY-SA 3.0,维基共享资源

白藓

这种矮小健壮的灌木,带有柔软的羊毛状白灰色绒毛,只生长在克里特岛,通常长在高处和陡峭的悬崖上。古希腊人认为这种药草是狩猎女神阿尔忒弥斯(Artemis)的礼物,阿尔忒弥斯用它来治疗不小心造成的箭伤。在米诺斯时代就使用白藓了———在克诺索斯的考古发掘中发现了它的种子,从那时起,这种植物的图像就出现在陶器上。它是古代最重要的草药之一,以缓解咳嗽、消化问题、轻微皮肤炎症和瘀伤等症状而闻名。它还可以杀死细菌,并且富含抗氧化剂。 白藓经常与爱情联系在一起,有时被认为是一种春药,因为只有那些真正坠入爱河的人才会冒着生命危险爬上陡峭的悬崖和岩石,采割这种药草送给所爱的人。 白藓的叶子和淡紫色的花朵被用来制作药茶,克里特岛的市场上都有销售。因为白藓濒临灭绝,现在禁止采集野生的白藓,而是进行商业种植。

茴香
茴香。 Eugene Zelenko,CC BY-SA 4.0,维基共享资源

茴香

来自胡萝卜科,原产于南欧,可食用的茴香在6月和7月开出黄色的花朵,开在羽毛般柔软的绿色叶子中。花、叶、鳞茎均可食用,有甜茴香味。古希腊人将茴香用作药物、食物、饥饿抑制剂和驱虫剂,人们相信茴香茶可以在战斗前鼓舞士气。根据希腊神话,普罗米修斯(Prometheus)用一根巨大的茴香茎把火从奥林匹斯山带到地球。

薰衣草
薰衣草。 Michael Clarke,CC BY-SA 2.0,维基共享资源

薰衣草

薰衣草是一种小型常绿灌木,紫色的花朵稀疏地排列在长裸茎顶端的尖刺上。薰衣草是薄荷家族的一员,原产于地中海地区,是最芳香的植物之一,因其芬芳的花朵和油而受到重视,可用于烹饪、化妆品和制作百花香。古希腊人在沐浴水中放薰衣草以获得香味,还用它驱虫,并认为它可以解植物之毒。薰衣草的医疗功效包括改善睡眠质量、治愈皮肤瑕疵、缓解疼痛、降低血压和缓解哮喘症状。 

牛至
牛至。 Luigi-CC,维基共享资源

牛至

来自薄荷科,原产于地中海地区和西亚的山丘,整个夏天,克里特岛的牛至都开着紫色的花朵。古希腊人认为牛至是由女神阿芙罗狄蒂(Aphrodite)创造的,牛至不仅用于烹饪,还用来为新婚夫妇加冕并为死者带来和平。他们还咀嚼它来缓解风湿病、消化不良、咳嗽、感冒、腹泻和牙痛的症状。这种药草被广泛用于希腊美食,包括经典的羊肉菜肴,当然,它还可以作为希腊沙拉的配料。

迷迭香
迷迭香。 Sonja Foss,Gavalochori 基金会

迷迭香

一种带有芬芳的常绿针状叶子和浓烈清新气味的灌木,迷迭香灌木在克里特岛可以长到 2 米(6 英尺)高。它原产于地中海地区,从11月到5月,盛开着淡紫色花朵。传说是爱与美的女神阿芙罗狄蒂(Aphrodite)创造了这种植物,它成为忠诚的象征。因此,恋人过去常常交换迷迭香小枝来承诺忠贞和忠诚。迷迭香也象征着怀念,可用于葬礼以纪念死者。这种植物被认为有许多药用价值,古希腊人和罗马人戴着迷迭香的头冠来提神、提高记忆力。它被用作香水和化妆品的添加剂,并被用作羊肉、猪肉和鱼的调味料。在加瓦洛霍里及其周边的小酒馆提供的许多菜肴都以迷迭香为调味料。 加瓦洛霍里的阿里马里(Arismari)小酒馆就是以这种植物命名的——arismari 这个词来自古老的克里特岛方言,意思是“迷迭香”。

圣约翰草
圣约翰草。 Zeynel Cebeci,CC BY-SA 4.0,维基共享资源

圣约翰草

一种灌木,有黄色星形花朵,中心有长而艳丽的雄蕊,圣约翰草在克里特岛初夏时开花。它的花被制成草药油,存放在罐子里,用橄榄油覆盖它们,然后放在阳光下晒一个月左右。之后油会变成宝石红色,过滤后,将其存放在黑暗的橱柜中。它既用于治疗烧伤、疮和肌肉酸痛(斯巴达人以在战斗后使用这种油护理伤口而闻名),也用于治疗焦虑、抑郁和其他情绪障碍。它被称为圣约翰草,可能是因为它在 6月24日庆祝圣约翰诞辰时节开花。

百里香
百里香。 Klearchos Kapoutsis,CC BY 2.0,维基共享资源jpg

百里香

百里香是一种芳香浓郁的草本植物和天然防腐剂,有着鲜艳的紫色花朵,从6月下旬到8月在克里特岛开花。古希腊人知道百里香是一种提神醒脑的草本植物,并认为它能激发勇气。他们还用它的叶和花来给洗澡水加香,那些身上带有百里香味的人被认为是优雅而精致的。它还用于各种地中海菜肴,是它令大部分克里特岛蜂蜜具有特殊味道。 

我们使用 cookie 来个性化内容和广告,提供社交媒体功能并分析我们的流量。我们还与我们的社交媒体、广告和分析合作伙伴共享有关您使用我们网站的信息。 查看更多
Cookie 设置
接受
衰退
隐私和 Cookie 政策
隐私和 Cookie 政策
饼干名称 积极的
  1. 信息收集和使用:当您成为本网站用户时,我们会收集您提供给我们的个人信息,例如您的姓名和电子邮件地址。我们会向您发送有关我们网站以及有关加瓦洛霍里 相关信息的电子邮件。我们也会使用您的电子邮件来查看您的使用情况或收集您的意见。
  2. 征得同意:当您向我们提供个人信息时,即表示您同意我们仅出于特定原因收集和使用这些信息。如果我们出于营销等次要原因要求您提供个人信息,我们将直接征求您的意见,您可以同意或拒绝。
  3. 撤回同意:在您选择加入后,如果您改变主意,您可以随时通过电子邮箱AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 或寄邮件到1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA与我们取得联系,撤回“同意我们与您联系”或“继续收集、使用或披露您的信息”。
  4. 披露:如果法律要求我们这样做或者如果您违反我们的条款和条件,我们可能会披露您的个人信息。 [插入条款和条件的链接]
  5. 数据位置:您的数据存储在“福斯-拉迪奇加瓦洛霍里基金”(Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori)的数据存储系统中。数据存储在防火墙后面的安全服务器上。
  6. 支付流程:如果您在我们的网站上购买东西,我们会使用第三方付款处理器。支付通过支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI-DSS) 进行加密。您的购买交易数据仅在交易存续时段得以保存。所有直接支付网关都遵守PCI-DSS 制定的标准,该标准由 PCI 安全标准委员会负责管理, Visa、MasterCard、American Express 和 Discover 等品牌共同参与执行。 PCI-DSS 规定有助于确保我们网站安全处理信用卡信息。
  7. 第三方服务:一般而言,我们使用的第三方供应商只会在必要的范围内收集、使用和披露您的信息,以允许他们完成向我们提供的服务。但是,某些第三方服务供应商,例如支付网关和其他支付交易处理器,对于因交易需要而向他们提供的信息有他们自己的隐私政策。对于这些供应商,我们建议您阅读他们的隐私政策,以便了解这些供应商会如何处理您的个人信息。某些供应商及其设备可能位于与您或我们不同的司法管辖区。如果您选择涉及第三方服务供应商提供的服务交易,您的信息会受到该服务供应商或其设备所在司法管辖区的法律约束。一旦您离开我们的网站或被重定向到第三方网站或应用程序,您将不再受本隐私政策或我们网站的条款和条件的约束。
  8. 网站链接:当您点击我们网站上的链接时,它们会引导您离开本网站。我们不会对其他网站的隐私做法负责,并建议您阅读他们的隐私声明。
  9. 信息安全:为保护您的个人信息,我们采取合理的预防措施并遵循行业最佳实践,以确保您的信息不会被不当丢失、滥用、访问、披露、更改或销毁。如果您向我们提供了您的信用卡信息,该信息会使用安全套接字层技术 (SSL) 进行加密,并以 AES-256 加密方式进行存储。尽管通过互联网或电子存储的传输方法不是 100% 安全,但我们还是会遵循所有 PCI-DSS 的规定,并执行其它被普遍接受的行业标准。
  10. 饼干: 我们收集 cookie 或类似的跟踪技术——我们网站的服务器传输到您的计算机的信息。此信息可用于跟踪您在我们网站上的会话。 Cookie 也可用于为您个人定制我们的网站内容。如果您使用的是一种常见的互联网网络浏览器,您可以将浏览器设置为在收到 cookie 时通知您或拒绝 cookie 访问您的计算机。
    • 我们使用cookies 来识别您的设备并为您提供个性化的体验。
    • 我们使用cookies 识别通过第三方渠道访问我们网站的情况,并投放来自Google、Facebook、Instagram 和其他第三方供应商的有针对性的广告。
    • 我们的第三方广告商使用 cookie 来跟踪您之前对我们网站和互联网其他地方的访问,以便为您提供有针对性的广告。有关定向广告或行为广告的更多信息,请访问: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • 选择退出:您可以通过访问数字广告联盟的退出页面,选择退出通过特定第三方供应商提供的定向广告。链接
    • 我们还在网站上实行自动跟踪,以衡量与您的沟通情况以及我们的产品和服务方面的绩效和参与度。
    • 请注意,由于对如何响应“请勿跟踪”没有形成行业共识,因此当我们从您的浏览器中检测到此类信号时,不会改变我们对数据的收集和使用。
  11. 网络分析工具:我们会使用网站内置的网络分析工具来衡量和收集匿名的登录信息。
  12. 准入年龄:未成年人(未满 18周岁)不得使用本网站。
  13. 本隐私政策的变更:我们保留随时修改本隐私政策的权利。请经常查看本隐私政策。更改和公示会在网站上发布后立即生效。如果我们对本政策进行重大更改,我们会在这里通知您政策已更新,以便您了解我们收集信息的类型;我们如何使用它;以及我们会在什么情况下使用和/或披露您的信息。如果我们的网站被其它公司收购或兼并,您的信息会转给新的所有者,以便我们可以继续向您提供信息。
  14. 联系我们:如果您想访问、更正、修改或删除我们已有的关于您的个人信息;投诉;或想了解更多信息,请通过 AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com 联系我们的隐私合规官,或寄邮件到 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA。
保存设置
Cookie 设置

Search

Flora and Fauna

Humans share the Earth with many other life forms, and a great variety of them exist on Crete. As you rendezvous with various plants and animals during your stay in Gavalochori, you will find some to be familiar and some not. This section is designed to introduce you to the varieties of life in the Gavalochori area.

Pigs, Crete. Luka Tica, Foundation for Gavalochori

There are almost 2,000 species of plants on Crete, with almost 200 of them native and exclusive to Crete. The variety of plants on Crete is due to a number of factors, one of which is its geographic position, which permitted the island to receive plant contributions from both central Europe and what is now Turkey.

Plants on Crete are hardy because they have to be. Only those adapted to harsh and taxing conditions survive the summer. They must be able to withstand searing temperatures, drying winds, and bright light. 

This section is not designed to provide a complete taxonomy of plants on Crete. Instead it makes note of a few of the trees, flowers, and herbs that you are likely to encounter in and near Gavalochori. The plants you will see, of course, depend on when you come to Crete. Those on the list were chosen because they are spectacular or unusual in some way, are commonly seen, or because visitors often wonder what they are.

Dittany
Dittany. HelenaH, CC BY-SA 3.0, Wikimedia Commons

Dittany

This small, compact shrub with a soft woolly covering of white-gray hair grows only on Crete, usually at great heights and on steep cliffs. The ancient Greeks believed this herb was the gift of the goddess of hunting, Artemis, who used it to cure the wounds she sometimes carelessly made with her arrows. Dittany was used during Minoan times—dittany seeds were found during excavations of Knossos, and images of the plant appear on pottery from that time. It is one of the most important healing herbs of antiquity and is known to relieve symptoms of cough, digestive problems, minor skin inflammations, and bruises. It also kills bacteria and is high in antioxidants. Dittany is often associated with love and is sometimes considered an aphrodisiac because only those who are genuinely in love will risk their lives by climbing the steep cliffs and rocks where it grows to cut and offer the herb to their loved ones. Dittany’s leaves and light-purple blossoms are used to make herbal tea that is available for sale in markets throughout Crete. Because dittany is considered endangered, its wild collection is now banned, but it is commercially cultivated.

Fennel
Fennel. Eugene Zelenko, CC BY-SA 4.0, Wikimedia Commons

Fennel

From the carrot family and a native of Southern Europe, the edible fennel has yellow flowers that appear in June and July amid feathery, soft green leaves. The flowers, leaves, and bulbs all can be eaten and have a sweet anise flavor. The ancient Greeks used fennel as a medicine, a food, a hunger suppressant, and an insect repellent, and a fennel tea was believed to give courage to warriors prior to battle. According to Greek mythology, Prometheus used a giant stalk of fennel to carry fire from Mount Olympus to Earth.

Lavender
Lavender. Michael Clarke, CC BY-SA 2.0, Wikimedia Commons

Lavender

Lavender is a small evergreen shrub with purple flowers sparsely arranged on spikes at the tips of long bare stalks. A member of the mint family and native to the Mediterranean region, lavender is one of the most aromatic plants and is valued for its fragrant flowers and oil that are used in cooking, cosmetics, and in the making of potpourris. The ancient Greeks scented their bathing water with lavender, employed it as an insect repellent, and considered it an antidote to plant poisons. Medical benefits of lavender include improving sleep quality, healing skin blemishes, pain relief, reducing blood pressure, and alleviating the symptoms of asthma. 

Oregano
Oregano. Luigi-CC, Wikimedia Commons

Oregano

From the mint family and a native of the hills of the Mediterranean region and western Asia, oregano blooms with purple flowers throughout the summer on Crete. The ancient Greeks believed that oregano was created by the goddess Aphrodite and used the herb not only for cooking but to crown bridal couples and to bring peace to the departed. They also chewed it to ease the symptoms of rheumatism, indigestion, coughs, colds, diarrhea, and toothache. The herb is widely used in Greek cuisine, including classic lamb dishes and, of course, as the topping on Greek salads.

Rosemary
Rosemary. Sonja Foss, Foundation for Gavalochori

Rosemary

A shrub with fragrant, evergreen needle-like leaves and a strong, refreshing scent, rosemary bushes can grow as tall as 2 meters (6 feet) on Crete. It is native to the Mediterranean region, and its mauve-blue flowers bloom from November to May. Legend claims that Aphrodite, the goddess of love and beauty, created the plant, which became a symbol of fidelity. As a result, lovers used to exchange sprigs of rosemary to promise loyalty and faithfulness. Rosemary also symbolizes remembrance and may be used in funerals to commemorate the deceased. The plant is seen to have numerous medicinal uses, and the ancient Greeks and Romans wore crowns of rosemary to enliven the mind and improve the memory. It is used as an addition in perfumes and cosmetics and is valued as a seasoning for lamb, pork, and fish. Many dishes that you can order in tavernas in and around Gavalochori feature rosemary as a seasoning. The Arismari taverna in Gavalochori is named for this plant—the word arismari is a term from the old Cretan dialect for “rosemary.”

St. John's Wort
St. John’s Wort. Zeynel Cebeci, CC BY-SA 4.0, Wikimedia Commons

St. John’s Wort

A shrub that has yellow star-shaped flowers with long, showy stamens in the center, St. John’s Wort blooms in the early summer on Crete. Its flowers are made into an herbal oil but putting them in a jar, covering them with olive oil, and leaving them in direct sunlight for a month or so. The oil will then have turned a ruby red, and after straining, it is stored in a dark cupboard. It is used both to treat burns, sores, and muscle aches (the Spartans were known for using this oil to care for wounds after battle) as well as to treat, anxiety, depression, and other mood disorders. It is probably called St. John’s Wort because it blooms around the time of the celebration of the birth of Saint John on June 24.

Thyme
Thyme. Klearchos Kapoutsis, CC BY 2.0, Wikimedia Commonsjpg

Thyme

An intensely aromatic herb and a natural antiseptic, thyme has bright purple flowers that bloom from late June into August on Crete. The ancient Greeks knew thyme to be an invigorating herb and believed it inspired courage. They also used thyme leaves and flowers to perfume their bathwater, and those who smelled like thyme were assumed to be elegant and refined. Thyme is used in a variety of Mediterranean dishes and is the herb that gives much of Cretan honey its special taste. 

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. View more
Cookies settings
Accept
Decline
Privacy & Cookie policy
Privacy & Cookies policy
Cookie name Active
  1. Information Collected and Its Uses: When you participate in this site, we may collect the personal information you give us such as your name and email address. We may send you emails about our site and related information about the village of Gavalochori. We may also use your email to survey you about your usage or to collect your opinion.
  2. Obtaining Consent: When you provide us with personal information, you imply that you consent to our collecting it and using it for that specific reason only. If we ask for your personal information for a secondary reason, like marketing, we will either ask you directly for your expressed consent or provide you with an opportunity to say no.
  3. Withdrawing Consent: After you opt in, if you change your mind, you may withdraw your consent for us to contact you or for the continued collection, use, or disclosure of your information at any time by contacting us at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or mailing us at: 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
  4. Disclosure: We may disclose your personal information if we are required by law to do so or if you violate our Terms & Conditions. [INSERT LINK to Terms & Conditions].
  5. Location of Data: Your data are stored through the data-storage system of the Foss-Radich Foundation for Gavalochori. Data are stored on a secure server behind a firewall.
  6. Payment Process: If you make a purchase on our site, we use a third-party payment processor. Payments are encrypted through the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS). Your purchase transaction data are stored only as long as is necessary to complete your purchase transaction. All direct payment gateways adhere to the standards set by PCI-DSS as managed by the PCI Security Standards Council, which is a joint effort of brands like Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. PCI-DSS requirements help ensure the secure handling of credit-card information by our site.
  7. Third Party Services: In general, the third-party providers we use will only collect, use, and disclose your information to the extent necessary to allow them to perform the services they provide to us. However, certain third-party service providers, such as payment gateways and other payment-transaction processors, have their own privacy policies in respect to the information we are required to provide to them for your purchase-related transactions. For these providers, we recommend that you read their privacy policies so you understand the manner in which your personal information will be handled by these providers. Certain providers may be located in or have facilities in a different jurisdiction than either you or us. If you elect to proceed with a transaction that involves the services of a third-party service provider, your information may become subject to the laws of the jurisdiction(s) in which that service provider or its facilities are located. Once you leave our Website or are redirected to a third-party website or application, you are no longer governed by this Privacy Policy or our Website’s Terms & Conditions.
  8. Links: When you click on links on our Website, they may direct you away from the site. We are not responsible for the privacy practices of other sites and encourage you to read their privacy statements.
  9. Security: To protect your personal information, we take reasonable precautions and follow industry best practices to make sure it is not inappropriately lost, misused, accessed, disclosed, altered, or destroyed. If you provide us with your credit-card information, the information is encrypted using secure socket layer technology (SSL) and stored with AES-256 encryption. Although no method of transmission over the internet or electronic storage is 100% secure, we follow all PCI-DSS requirements and implement additional generally accepted industry standards.
  10. Cookies: We collect cookies or similar tracking technologies—information that our Website’s server transfers to your computer. This information can be used to track your session on our Website. Cookies may also be used to customize our Website content for you as an individual. If you are using one of the common internet web browsers, you can set up your browser to either let you know when you receive a cookie or to deny cookie access to your computer.
    • We use cookies to recognize your device and provide you with a personalized experience.
    • We use cookies to attribute visits to our Website to third-party sources and to serve targeted ads from Google, Facebook, Instagram, and other third-party vendors.
    • Our third-party advertisers use cookies to track your prior visits to our Website and elsewhere on the internet in order to serve you targeted ads. For more information about targeted or behavioral advertising, please visit: https://www.networkadvertising.org/understanding-online-advertising.
    • Opting out: You can opt out of targeted ads served via specific third-party vendors by visiting the Digital Advertising Alliance’s Opt-Out page.
    • We may also use automated tracking methods on our Website, in communications with you, and in our products and services to measure performance and engagement.
    • Please note that because there is no consistent industry understanding of how to respond to “Do Not Track” signals, we do not alter our data collection and usage practices when we detect such a signal from your browser.
  11. Web-Analysis Tools: We may use web-analysis tools that are built into the Website to measure and collect anonymous session information.
  12. Age of Consent:  You may not use this Website if you are a minor (defined as those who are younger than 18 years of age).
  13. Changes to this Privacy Policy: We reserve the right to modify this Privacy Policy at any time. Please review it frequently. Changes and clarifications will take effect immediately upon their posting on the Website. If we make material changes to this policy, we will notify you here that it has been updated so that you are aware of the nature of the information we collect; how we use it; and the circumstances, if any, under which we will use and/or disclose it. If our site is acquired or merged with another company, your information may be transferred to the new owners so that we may continue to provide information to you.
  14. Questions and Contact Information: If you would like to access, correct, amend, or delete any personal information we have about you; register a complaint; or simply want more information, contact our Privacy Compliance Officer at AnthonyRadich45@gmail.com or by mail at 1788 Glencoe Street, Denver, Colorado 80220, USA.
Save settings
Cookies settings